Chris Calloway (daughter of the legendary Cab Calloway) passed away August 7, 2008 after bravely surviving breast cancer for 18 years. Chris made her home in Santa Fe for many years, where she was known as the “Reigning Diva of the Night”. Her consummate talent as a singer combined with her comic timing, her irreverent humor, her ability to laugh at herself and her circumstances set her apart as a performer. This is a live recording of Chris singing the Lena Horne songbook, a program she performed several times in Santa Fe and Albuquerque venues to enthusiastic audiences. Each of these concerts was unique.

Chris performed this concert with the Bert Dalton Trio at the Outpost Performance Space in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on March 20, 2008 – coincidentally on the first day of spring. The audience was spellbound, and it turned out to be one of her best renditions of the Lena Horne material. On this precious recording we hear Chris sing the beautiful material made famous by her godmother, Lena Horne. In her one-of-a-kind style, Chris tells delightful stories of her birth and childhood on this new CD. Although Chris was in the final stages of her struggle with cancer, she performed at the top of her game. The entire concert was skillfully recorded by Daniel Ward, and is presented here in its entirety with minimal editing. As fate would have it, this was her last public performance, and is a testament to her greatness.

Chris Calloway Sings The Lena Horne Songbook

1. Introduction of Chris Calloway
2. From this Moment On
3. Chatter with Audience
4. Where or When
5. Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
6. Chatter with Audience
7. The Surrey With The Fringe On The Top
8. Chris tells stories about Lenas’ life.
9. Watch What Happens
10. Chris chatters with Audience
11. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
12. Chris Jokes with her Audience
13. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
14. The Lady Is A Tramp, Bows
15. Chris tells a Lena story
16. Stormy Weather
17. Thank yous
18. Just One Of Those Things
19. If You Believe
20. Chris sings one more song
21. It Might As Well Be Spring—and Bows



Also Available:

This CD features Big Band and Trio tracks of material either written by or recorded by Cab Calloway, including Chris’ version of the Blanche Calloway song “Growlin Dan” - The Joy Boys theme song. Chris was born into, and grew up with and participated in this Legacy. The Honoring of this rich and enduring family musical tradition is the heart of this CD.



Espiritu is a world class listening room where the owners Tom Berkes and Jewel Sato are committed to bringing the finest entertainment available, from legends Mose Allison and Herbie Mann to contemporaries Eddie Daniels and Alan Pasqua and now home to Chris Calloway. Her weekly performances never fail to move and excite the audience.







Back to the front pageMusic For Kids Only. Check it out!All other Emphasis distributed music.DVDThe latest news involving Emphasis artists and other events.List of AwardsContact/About